Text size
Home / OCFP Awards/ Past Recipients

Past Recipients

The OCFP is proud to celebrate the outstanding skill, knowledge and dedication of family doctors across Ontario through the Annual OCFP Awards program. The recipients exemplify the vital work family doctors do to help keep Ontarians healthy.

Learn about the most recent OCFP Award recipients and their inspiring work in family medicine

Family Physician of the Year

The Ontario College of Family Physicians recognizes the outstanding dedication of family physicians to their patients, their community, their profession and the OCFP by awarding seven family physicians (one from each region of the province) the title of "Family Physician of the Year." One of the seven is chosen as Ontario's Family Physician of the Year by the Awards Committee, and is recognized by the College of Family Physicians of Canada at the Family Medicine Forum as a recipient of the Reg L. Perkin Award.

Community Teacher of the Year

The Community Teacher of the Year Award celebrates excellence in a community family medicine preceptor. This award is nominated by Ontario's family medicine residents and medical school students.

Family Medicine Resident of the Year

The Resident of the Year Award recognizes outstanding teaching skills and commitment to education among family medicine residents currently enrolled in a family medicine residency program in Ontario.

Family Practices of the Year

The Family Practice of the Year Award celebrates the accomplishments and hard work of the members of selected family practices in delivering comprehensive services and continuity of care for their patients.

Award of Excellence

The Award of Excellence recognizes outstanding contributions in a specific area pertaining to the specialty of family medicine: patient care, community service, hospital or health-care institutions, College activities (CFPC or OCFP), teaching, research or other elements of the academic discipline of family medicine.